A couple on and off stage, Renjith Babu & Vijna Vasudevan are accomplished & well-known dancers. They travel the world performing the classical dance of South India, Bharatanatyam. Renjith & Vijna are based in Chennai, India.
 
 
What is your idea of perfect happiness?
 
Renjith: I don’t believe in perfect happiness; for me happiness is a state of being peaceful. As I am a performing artiste and a yoga practitioner, I experience this ‘inner peace’ as happiness. Creating new works, practicing and teaching helps me be in this state. Photography is a hobby that I recently picked up and I have found it to also feeds my happiness. Though there are other things that make me happy they do not give me inner peace.
 
Vijna: Being at peace and able to do one’s work for the joy of doing it under no pressure or having to meet a deadline.
 
What is your greatest fear?
 
Renjith: My fear is to get attached to a sense of ‘doer-ship’ when it comes to my work, one can get into the mad rat-race and succumb to societal evils. I consciously remind myself in different ways to be away from this.
 
Vijna: I personally prefer to say ‘genuine concern’ than fear and it is – when would I have this deep inner conviction to live life beautifully with complete detachment though I know and realise everything and everyone is an illusion. To strike a balance at times makes me feel imbalanced.
 
Which living person do you most admire?
 
Renjith: There are many to as I have met beautiful and inspiring people at various phases of my life. To mention a few – My Mother – who never questioned my decisions but always stood by me and let me be who I am today; Prof. C. V. Chandrasekhar – My teacher who groomed me after my initial training in dance and continues to do so; Mavin Khoo – My inspiration from a young age, who made me to believe and take up dance at a point where I was contemplating over my decision to continue in Kalakshetra; G. Narendra – My inspiration for finding the inner courage to take risk, think aloud and try innovative ideas in dance composition and choreographic works.
 
Vijna: There are many who have come as guiding angels at various points in my life – family, teachers, senior artistes and well-wishers to whom I am always indebted and grateful.
However, I wish to mention Preethi Athreya – She sowed seeds of ‘importance of body awareness’, ‘usage and transference of energy during execution of dance movements’ and like concepts about dance when I was around 11 or 12 years old in my initial years at Bharata Kalanjali, which I began to see growing in me during my early 20s and the result of it when I decided to take up dance professionally. Seeing her and talking to her, excites me and makes me feel refreshed!
 
What is your favourite journey?
 
Renjith: I love journeys which inspire and teach me lots of things in my life. I also love going for long car drives since it is a stress buster and helps me to think about new ideas, themes and choreographies.
 
Vijna: Any journey that gives me the space and time to enjoy silence and solitude. As I believe, this is what would allow you to appreciate the highs and lows in the journey of life.
 
What or who is the greatest love of your life?
 
Renjith: What goes inside me is reflected outside me. Therefore, I love myself since that lets me love others.
 
Vijna: Fluidity and Serenity.
 
When and where were you happiest?
 
Renjith: There are so many events which have made me feel the happiest – When I got my first pay; the day I bought my first bike, my first mobile phone. However, a special one is my wedding. It transformed my life in ways I never imagined. I still recall the warm feeling I had when I tied the Thaali for Vijna – I realised it is not just one person whom I have brought \’into my life\’ but an entire family, who has been a continuous pillar of support to us, till date.
 
Vijna: ‘2011’ – The year I got married has been the turning point of my life not only personally and professionally, more importantly it is when I built the courage to take the first step to the journey inwards. This journey has brought a lot of challenges outside and within me.
 
Which talent would you most like to have?
 
Renjith: To play the Veena or any Indian percussion instrument.
 
Vijna: To be able to play a string instrument – As it is an intimate way to connect with one’s self. It is a movement beyond physical movement.
 
What is your current state of mind?
 
Renjith: Trying to understand ‘Who I am’
 
Vijna: Trying how to bring steadiness in the process of materialising my purpose in life and my dance.
 
If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, who or what would you choose?
 
Renjith: It would be to come back as myself and correct my mistakes. Given a choice, I do not wish to be re-born.
 
Vijna: Actually, I am happy not to return. But for the fun of it, if I had a choice to come back, then it would be as a woman with an amalgamation of Muthuswami Dikshitar and Rukmini Devi!
 
What is the quality you most admire in a man?
 
Renjith: Chivalry in Men – Respect for women, Sensitivity towards women’s emotions.
 
Vijna: Respect for Women.
 
What is the quality you most admire in a woman?
 
Renjith: Love and Tolerance.
 
Vijna: Empathy and Tolerance.
 
What do you most value in your friends?
 
Renjith: Truthfulness.
 
Vijna: Integrity and Honesty.
 
Who are your favourite writers?
 
Renjith: I like reading books on philosophy and spirituality; especially works of Swami Vivekananda, Swami Chinmayananda, Bhagawan Ramana Maharshi, Rukmini Devi. I also love reading Comics and Mythological Books – Tinkle and Amar Chitra Katha.
 
Vijna: Khalil Gibran, Swami Chinmayananda, Rukmini Devi Arundale & Comics!
 
Who are your heroes in real life?
 
Renjith: Anyone who is truly self-made, and has their own vision without imitating, who gives inspiration to think in a different manner, who has got gratitude and truthfulness.
 
Vijna: Anyone who is truly self-made, takes accountability for their actions and/or appreciates the role of every being and their contribution in the society’s welfare.
 
How would you like to die?
 
Renjith: While I am dancing or in meditation
 
Vijna: In deep sleep
 

 

All Rights Reserved ©2017-2020
Amsterdam Chennai
All content on this website: the text, photos and videos
is intended for personal use only and not for commercial purposes. 
The content on this website is entirely copyrighted to:
Sathir Dance Art Trust
and solely owned by the publisher/provider of the content.
Unauthorised republication in any form is strictly prohibited
without prior written permission of the publisher.
 
 
Sathir Dance Art Proust Questionnaire